About Us

Siouxland Trails Foundation is a no-profit Foundation formed in 2003 for the purpose of improving recreational trail opportunities in the greater Sioux City and surrounding area. The Foundation advocates for trail user interests and represents those interests in a cooperative working relationship with area governmental agencies.

Siouxland Trails Foundation is a 100 % volunteer organization with no paid staff. Some of our achievements include:

  • Development and free distribution of more than 7500 copies of the Siouxland Trails Map.
  • Provided private matching funds and direct donations that have resulted in trail extensions and numerous trail improvements.
  • Created awareness of the importance of trails in our communities’ quality of life.
  • Consulted with local governments to provide detours when trail sections needed to be closed for various reasons.
  • Serve as a resource on trails issues for all local media.
  • Recognized as Volunteer Parks Organization of the year by both the Iowa and Nebraska associations of Park and Rec Directors.
  • Assisted South Sioux City in attaining and renewing its status of being recognized nationally as a Bicycle Friendly Community – the first city to attain such designation in Iowa, Nebraska or South Dakota”
  • Sponsor Tri-State Trail Tour Bicycle Rides.
  • Founding Participant in the regional Bike-Ped Committee.
  • Facilitated and contributed to the cost of getting the Sioux City bus fleet equipped with bicycle racks.
  • Initiated the areas decorative bicycle rack program.
  • Work with local governments to improve trail related signage to make the local trails more user friendly and safer.

The Foundation Board

Bob DeSmidt, President
Dan Vanderlinden, Vice President
Ron Kiel, Treasurer
Beth Grigsby, Secretary
Sandi Burns, Ride Director
Cy W. Chesterman
Steve Gengler
John Gray
Joe Kruse
Gina Sypersma

Other active members of the Foundation include Barbara Anne Huculak, Randy Yockey, Ken and Karen Welch, David Grigsby, Al Bengtson, and Craig Hartman